Father of the Bride makes me cry.

It’s silly because so many things make me cry. I’m a baby when it comes to triggers, and I have a lot of them. That episode of Grey’s Anatomy makes me weep like a baby. The one where George’s father dies, and they’re all just standing helplessly over his hospital bed. Yeah, I’ve been there. That episode actually aired about a month before I had to be there. It’s pathetic, but I know that episode ran through my mind as I stood helplessly much like George had. Only I wasn’t a doctor, or something of merit to save my father. I was barely a 16 year old girl. I was barely anything at all.

It bothers me though, my friends don’t even seem to realize it. This girl, who I more often than not like to consider close to me, treats her parents terribly. She spent another week of her life not talking to her father because she didn’t get whatever the fight was about to end in her favor. It’s been over 4 weeks and you can see it in that poor man’s eyes that he’s heartbroken. I would kill to have my dad here to bicker with me over the stupid things we used to get so angry about. I would love to hear him yell at me again because I was going to be late for school or I forgot to do some chore that he had asked of me days prior. I love my father, with all my heart. And that’s why Father of the Bride makes me cry. That was my dad. He used to give me those faces and scare the living daylights out of the poor boys I would bring home. He would tease me about the boys who he knew thought I was beautiful, even if I denied it.

So that’s what you should all know. You should love your parents. Even when they drive you crazy, you should love them. Because I wish I loved mine more. I wish I could have him there to walk me down the aisle. Or to look at me as I walked down the stairs in the wedding dress of my dreams. Or even to just meet the man I’m going to marry; to give him those looks I know he gave so well.

It’s Mother’s Day today though, so why they were airing Father of the Bride is beyond me. And I still have my mother to love, and although I wish I had them both, I don’t love her any less without him around. If anything I love her more, I respect her more.

Happy Mother’s Day Ma. I love you. ❤

